# LEGISLATIVE & LOBBYING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Called by: Jaime Salgado, Chairman DATE: WEDNESDAY, JUNE 21, 2023

**Members:** Paul Arena, Aaron Booker, Tim Nabors, Valerie Hanserd, John F. **TIME:** 5:30 PM **LOCATION:** ROOM 510

Sweeney, John Penney COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BLDG

404 ELM STREET ROCKFORD, IL 61101

#### **AGENDA:**

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of Minutes May 10, 2023
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Legislative and Lobbying Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the chair, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Federal Lobbyist Final Scoring and Selection
- F. State Lobbyist Selection Process
- G. Future Agenda Items
- H. Adjournment

## Winnebago County Board **Legislative & Lobbying Committee Meeting**

County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Conference Room 510 Rockford, IL 61101

> Wednesday, May 10, 2023 5:30 PM

Joseph Chiarelli, County Board Chairman

Marlana Dokken, Director, Chairperson's Office of

Others Present:

**Criminal Justice Initiatives** 

Ann Johns, Purchasing Director

#### Present:

Jaime Salgado, Chairperson

Paul Arena

Valerie Hanserd Tim Nabors

John F. Sweeney

#### Absent:

Aaron Booker John Penney

### AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of Minutes March 30, 2023 Minutes
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Legislative and Lobbying Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the chair, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Review the scored State and Federal Lobbyist RFQ's
- F. Future Agenda Items
- G. Adjournment

#### **Call to Order**

Chairperson Salgado called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM.

#### **Roll Call**

Chairperson Salgado yes, Mr. Arena yes, Mr. Nabors yes, Ms. Hanserd yes, Mr. Sweeney yes.

#### Approval of Minutes - March 30, 2023 Minutes

Motion: Ms. Hanserd. Second: Mr. Nabors.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

#### **Public Comment**

Chairperson Salgado omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

#### Review the scored State and Federal Lobbyist RFQ's

Discussion took place on scoring the State and Federal Lobbyist RFQ's.

Committee members reviewed the scoring of the State and Federal RFQ's and the committee's expectations for what priorities, process and services the lobbyists provide.

Discussion followed on the selection of the State and Federal RFQ's to schedule presentations.

A deadline of Friday, May 19, 2023 was set for the submission of any additional questions before scheduling the Federal and State presentations.

Chairperson Salgado called for any other questions or discussion.

#### **Future Agenda Items**

None reported.

#### Motion to Adjourn.

Motion: Ms. Hanserd. Second: Mr. Sweeney. Motion to adjourn was passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Administrative Assistant