
Lori Gummow 

Winnebago County Clerk 

Birth Certificate Request 

Office Use:  

Deputy: _______ 

Payment Method: ________      

ID: ________   

Amount: ________ 

$17 for the 1st copy; $5 for each additional copy Number of copies_______ 

Date of birth: ____________________ 

 

Birth Name: ___________________________________________________________ 

        First          Middle Initial   Last (Maiden) 

 

Hospital (Circle):  (Home)    (Mercy/RMH)     (OSF/St. Anthony)     (Swedish American) 

 

Name of Mother: ______________________________________________________ 

  First  Middle Initial  (Maiden) Last 

 

Name of Father:_______________________________________________________ 

  First  Middle  Initial  Last 

 

Under Illinois law (410 ILCS 535/25) a certified copy of a birth record is only available to persons with a 

“direct and tangible interest” in the record, such as one’s self, parent, guardian or legal representative. 

Anyone who willfully and knowingly uses or attempt to use any certificate and/or certificate for the purpos-

es of deception is guilty of a Class 4 felony (410 ILCS 535/27 ( c ), ( f ), punishable up to three years in pris-

on.  

INDIVIDUAL REQUESTING COPIES 

________________________________ _______________________________ 

Your Full Name    Your Signature 

 

What ID is required to receive a Birth Certificate? 

One of the following:    or Two of the following:  

State ID/Driver’s License*  Current Voter Registration Card 

Passport    Bank Statement (within 90 days) 

Military ID    Vehicle Registration Card 

Naturalization Certification  School/Employee ID Card 

Original Court Order   Paycheck Stub 

*If your ID has expired, you must   W-2 

provide one additional document      
     Utility Bill (within 60 days) 

How can a person get a Birth Certificate? 

• In person, at the Winnebago County Clerk’s Office, 404 Elm Street, Rock-

ford, IL, 61101. Monday—Friday, 8 a.m.—5 p.m.  

• By Mail: Complete the form, include a copy of acceptable ID (see above), 

and make payment by check or Money Order payable to “Winnebago 

County Clerk.” Must be exact amount; no refunds issued.  

• Online: visit www.officialrecordsonline.com  

Birth Certificates can be obtained from the Winnebago County 

Clerk’s Office if: Birth occurred in Winnebago County, Illinois  

Who can receive a Birth Certificate? 

• The individual named, if 18 years of age or older; 

• A parent, if the parent’s name appears on the Birth Certificate as 
the mother or father; 

• A Legal Guardian, with the Court Order stating said guardianship; 

• The person’s  legal representative; 

• A department of the State or Federal Government; or 

• Any person upon order of a court.  

http://www.officialrecordsonline.com

