Winnebago County Board Finance Committee Meeting County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

Thursday, March 21, 2024 Immediately following the Operations & Administrative Committee Meeting

Present:

Others Present:

John Butitta, Chairperson	Joseph Chiarelli, County Board Chairman
Jaime Salgado, Vice Chairperson	Patrick Thompson, County Administrator
Joe Hoffman	Steve Schultz, Chief Financial Officer
Keith McDonald	Lafakeria Vaughn, State's Attorney's Office
John F. Sweeney	Chris Dornbush, COO/Director of Development Services
Michael Thompson	Karen Elyea, Sr. Executive Assistant, County Board Admin.
	Paul Arena, County Board Member
Absent:	John Giliberti, SAO
Jean Crosby	Angie Goral, County Board Member
	Carol Hartline, Attorney, Williams McCarthy
	Greg Gates, Executive Director, Lee Ogle Transportation System
	Steve Davis, Director of Operations, Lee Ogle Transportation System

AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of March 7, 2024 Minutes
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Finance Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the Chairman, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Rural Transit Ordinance Discussion
- F. Resolution Adopting Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Policy
- G. Resolution Setting the Salaries and Other Benefits of the County Auditor, County Coroner, and County Board Chairman
- H. Ordinance for Approval of Budget Amendment for Reimbursable Technology Expenditures
- I. Closed Session to Discuss Pending Litigation
- J. Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled Kai McCoy versus Winnebago County
- K. Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled William James versus Winnebago County
- L. Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled Eric Beitel versus Winnebago County
- M. Other Matters

N. Adjournment

Call to Order

Chairperson Butitta called the meeting to order at 6: 05 PM.

Roll Call

Chairperson Butitta yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Salgado yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Approval of March 7, 2024 Minutes

Chairperson Butitta called for a motion to approve the March 7, 2024 Minutes. Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Hoffman. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Chairperson Butitta omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

Rural Transit Ordinance Discussion

Chairperson Butitta introduced Greg Gates, Executive Director, Lee Ogle Transportation System. Mr. Gates introduced Steve Davis, Director of Operations for Lee Ogle Transportation System. Mr. Gates gave a presentation on the county public transportation system serving Lee and Ogle Counties. Mr. Gates called for questions from the Finance Committee regarding the start-up transit program in rural Winnebago County and surrounding areas.

• Discussion followed.

Chairman Chiarelli thanked Mr. Gates and Mr. Davis. Chairman Chiarelli thanked Angie Goral for drawing the County's attention to the need of providing transportation to rural areas, Karen Elyea was thanked for acting as the point of contact and the Finance committee was thanked for their consideration. Chairman Chiarelli noted the National Association of Counties and Regional Councils sees the need for rural transportation as one of the highest priorities and stated Winnebago County is one of five counties in Illinois without rural transit. The IDOT and the Federal Government are trying to fill this gap in every county throughout the United States.

Resolution Adopting Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Policy

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Thompson.Mr. Schultz shared the Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Policy.Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.Mr. Schultz was asked to provide a list of CIP 2024 project expenses.

Resolution Setting the Salaries and Other Benefits of the County Auditor, County Coroner, and County Board Chairman

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Salgado.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Ordinance for Approval of Budget Amendment for Reimbursable Technology Expenditures

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Salgado.

Mr. Schultz reviewed the Ordinance with Finance committee members.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Closed Session to Discuss Pending Litigation

Chairperson Butitta called for a motion to enter Closed Session. Motion: Mr. Sweeney. Second: Mr. Thompson. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Roll Call

Chairperson Butitta yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Salgado yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Chairperson Butitta – No action was taken in Closed Session.

Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled Kai McCoy versus Winnebago County

Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled William James versus Winnebago County

Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled Eric Beitel versus Winnebago County

Motion: Chairperson Butitta made a motion to approve the three Resolutions authorizing Settlement of Claims Against the County of Winnebago. Second: Mr. Sweeney. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Other Matters

• Tort Fund Update

Adjournment

Chairperson Butitta called for a motion to adjourn. Motion: Mr. Sweeney. Second: Mr. Thompson. Motion to adjourn passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Administrative Assistant