Winnebago County Board Operations and Administrative Committee Meeting

County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

> Thursday, March 7, 2024 5:30 PM

Present: Others Present:

Keith McDonald, Chairperson Patrick Thompson, County Administrator Steve Schultz, Chief Financial Officer

John Butitta Hope Edwards, Director, Purchasing (Staff Liaison)
Jaime Salgado Lafakeria Vaughn, State's Attorney's Office

Michael Thompson Chris Dornbush, COO/Director of Development Services

Jean Crosby, County Board Member

Absent:Shawn Franks, FacilitiesValerie Hanserd, Vice ChairpersonCharlotte Hoss, SAO

Joe Hoffman Sean Hughes, WCSO

Michael Iasparro, Atty., Hinshaw & Culbertson

Matt Lane, Chief Deputy Coroner Jennifer Muraski, Coroner

John Sweeney, County Board Member Jim Webster, County Board Member Anthony Ferretti, WIFR 23 News Sam Hoss, WREX 13 News

Jesse Liptzin, WTVO 17/39 News

AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of Minutes February, 15, 2024
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Operations and Administrative Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the chair, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Resolution Awarding Purchase of Patrol Vehicles for Sheriff's Office Using CIP 2024 Funds

Cost: \$436,936

F. Resolution Awarding Purchase of Portable Radios for Coroner's Office Using CIP 2024 Funds

Cost: \$59,120

G. Resolution Awarding Purchase to Replace Domestic Hot Water Source at Juvenile Detention Center Using CIP 2023 PSST Funds

Cost: \$85,654

- H. Discussion Item Resolution Regarding the Emergency Response to the Abandonment of Asylum Seekers in Winnebago County
- I. Future Agenda Items
- J. Adjournment

Chairperson McDonald called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

Roll Call

Chairperson Keith McDonald yes, Paul Arena yes, John Butitta yes, Jaime Salgado yes, Michael Thompson yes.

Approval of Minutes – February 15, 2024

Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Mr. Butitta.

Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Chairperson McDonald omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

Resolution Awarding Purchase of Patrol Vehicles for Sheriff's Office Using CIP 2024 Funds

Cost: \$436,936

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Thompson.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Resolution Awarding Purchase of Portable Radios for Coroner's Office Using CIP 2024 Funds

Cost: \$59,120

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Thompson.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by a majority voice vote.

Resolution Awarding Purchase to Replace Domestic Hot Water Source at Juvenile Detention Center Using CIP 2023 PSST Funds

Cost: \$85,654

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Salgado.

• Discussion followed.

Motion made by Chairperson McDonald to lay over the Resolution. Second: Mr. Butitta. Motion to lay over the Resolution passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Discussion Item - Resolution Regarding the Emergency Response to the Abandonment of Asylum Seekers in Winnebago County

• Discussion followed.

Future Agenda Items

- Purchasing to provide additional notice to committee members for any upcoming items.
- RFP for Public Safety Building by end of March 2024. Draft to be provided to committee members.

Motion to Adjourn

Chairperson McDonald called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.
Motion: Mr. Salgado. Second: Mr. Thompson.
Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Administrative Assistant