Winnebago County Board Finance Committee Meeting

County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

Thursday, March 16, 2023 Immediately Following Operations & Administrative Committee Meeting

Present: Others Present:

Jaime Salgado, Vice Chairperson
Jean Crosby
Joe Hoffman

Patrick Thompson, County Administrator
David Rickert, Chief Financial Officer
Ann Johns, Purchasing Director

Keith McDonald Lafakeria Vaughn, State's Attorney's Office

John F. Sweeney

Michael Thompson

Rick Ciganek, Sheriff's Office
Dan Magers, IT Department

Michaela Bradley, IT Department

John Butitta, Chairperson Nick Zimmerman, 17th Circuit Court

AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of December 15, 2022 and January 5 and 19, 2023 Minutes
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Finance Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the Chairman, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Discussion Item Case Management System by States Attorney Hanley, Public Defender Nick Zimmerman, IT, and Circuit Clerk
- F. Resolution Authorizing Execution of Participation Agreements in National Opioid Settlements for CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, Teva and Allergan
- G. Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Transfers from General Fund and PSST Funds for Capital Improvement Projects
- H. Closed Session to Discuss Pending Litigation
- I. Other Matters
- J. Adjournment

Call to Order

Vice Chairperson Salgado called the meeting to order at 6:25 pm.

Roll Call

Vice Chairperson Salgado yes, Ms. Crosby yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Approval of December 15, 2022 and January 5 and 19, 2023 Minutes

Motion: Mr. Hoffman. Second: Mr. Thompson.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Vice Chairperson Salgado omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

Discussion Item Case Management System by States Attorney Hanley, Public Defender Nick Zimmerman, IT, and Circuit Clerk

Discussion took place on updating the Case Management System software.

Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Transfers from General Fund and PSST Funds for Capital Improvement Projects

Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Mr. McDonald.

Mr. Rickert discussed the Budget Amendment for transfers from the General Fund and PSST Funds for the Capital Improvement projects. Mr. Rickert directed committee members to the Ordinance attachment.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Closed Session to Discuss Pending Litigation

Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Mr. Hoffman.

Roll Call: Vice Chairperson Salgado yes, Ms. Crosby yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Vice Chairperson Salgado: No action was taken in closed session.

Resolution Authorizing Execution of Participation Agreements in National Opioid Settlements for CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, Teva and Allergan

Motion: Mr. Sweeney. Second: Mr. Thompson.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Other Matters

Vice Chairperson Salgado called for any other matters to come before the committee.

- The Budget policies, including revenue policies and the budget calendar will be distributed at the next committee meeting.
- Mr. Sweeney advised the \$2MM for the water project was removed from ARP funding and moved into Economic Development.

Adjournment

Vice Chairperson Salgado called for a motion to adjourn.

Motion: Mr. Hoffman. Second: Mr. Thompson.

Motion to adjourn passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile

Administrative Assistant