Winnebago County Board Economic Development Committee

County Administration Building 404 Elm Street,

Room 510

(moved from 303 to 510 for technology capability)

Rockford, IL 61101

MINUTES of

Monday, August 28, 2023 at 5:30 PM

Members Present: Other Present:

John Sweeney, Chairman Chris Dornbush, Development Services, Winnebago County

Jean Crosby Jas Bilich, Special Projects Coordinator, Winnebago County

Joe Chiarelli, Board Chairman, Winnebago County

Valerie Hanserd Chris Petrus, Information Technology, Winnebago County

Brad Lindmark Kristen Paul, RACVB

Chenaire Barmore, RACVB

John Penney (attended virtually)

Members Absent:

Angela Fellars Tim Nabors

AGENDA:

A. Call to Order

Chairman Sweeney called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

B. Roll Call

Roll call was taken of all members present. John Sweeney, Jean Crosby, Valerie Hanserd, Brad Lindmark, and John Penney (virtually) in attendance, in person.

MOTION TO ALLOW John Penney to join the meeting virtually by Brad Lindmark and seconded by Jean Crosby.

MOTION APPROVED (4-0). Aye votes were, John Sweeney, Jean Crosby, Brad Lindmark, and Valerie Hanserd.

C. Approval of Minutes

MOTION TO APPROVE the minutes of June 5, 2023 Economic Development Committee by Valerie Hanserd and seconded by Brad Lindmark.

Motion APPROVED (5-0). Aye votes were, John Sweeney, Jean Crosby, Brad Lindmark, Valerie Hanserd, and John Penney.

D. Public Comment

Chairman Sweeney read the Public Comment, however no members of the public were here to speak for the public comment section.

E. Resolution Authorizing Execution Of An Intergovernmental Agreement On New Residential Construction Property Tax Refund Program With The City Of Rockford, The Board Of Education Of Rockford School District No. 205, And The Rockford Park District

Motion to APPROVE by Brad Lindmark and seconded by Jean Crosby.

Discussion followed by Jean Crosby, John Penney, Brad Lindmark, and John Sweeney.

Motion FAILED (2-3). Aye votes were, Jean Crosby and Valerie Hanserd. Nay votes were, John Sweeney, Brad Lindmark and John Penney.

F. Resolution Approving Six Thousand Dollars (\$6,000) From Host Fees To The Rockford Area Convention And Visitors Bureau (RACVB) To Support The 2023 Stroll On State Event

Motion to APPROVE by Valerie Hanserd and seconded by Brad Lindmark.

Discussion followed by Chris Dornbush, Kristen Paul, Jean Crosby and John Sweeney.

Motion APPROVED (5-0). Aye votes were, John Sweeney, Jean Crosby, Brad Lindmark, Valerie Hanserd, and John Penney.

G. Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau (RACVB) Report 2023 4th Quarter

Discussion followed by Kristen Paul, John Penney, Jean Crosby and Chris Dornbush, Kristen Paul, and John Sweeney.

H. Other Matters

I. Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN the meeting by Valerie Hanserd, seconded by Brad Lindmark.

Motion APPROVED (5-0) to adjourn at 5:52 PM.