Winnebago County Board Finance Committee Meeting County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

Thursday, May 18, 2023 Immediately Following Operations & Administrative Committee Meeting

Present:

Others Present:

John Butitta, Chairperson	Patrick Thompson, County Administrator
Jean Crosby	Ann Johns, Purchasing Director
Jaime Salgado, Vice Chairperson	Debbie Crozier, HR Director
Joe Hoffman	Sue Goral, Treasurer
Keith McDonald	Charlotte LeClercq, Asst. Deputy State's Attorney Office
John F. Sweeney	John Saquisili, IT Department
Michael Thompson	Chris Scrol, County Board Member

AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of April 20, 2023 Minutes
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Finance Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgement by the Chairman, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Discussion Item: Update on Investments (Sue Goral–Winnebago County Treasurer)
- F. Discussion Item: Property Tax Levy Analysis (Patrick Thompson-Winnebago County Administrator) (See Attachment)
- G. Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled David Seitz versus Winnebago County
- H. Ordinance for a Budget Amendment to Establish Sheriff E-Citation Fund
- I. Resolution to Expedite the Payment of Claims for Winnebago County
- J. Closed Session
- K. Other Matters
- L. Adjournment

Call to Order

Chairperson Butitta called the meeting to order at 5:55 PM.

Roll Call

Chairperson Butitta yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Salgado, yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Approval of April 20, 2023 Minutes

Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Mr. Hoffman. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Chairperson Butitta omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

Finance Committee Board Members Ms. Crosby and Mr. Sweeney arrived and were now in attendance.

Discussion Item: Update on Investments (Sue Goral–Winnebago County Treasurer)

Ms. Goral updated the Finance committee on the investments.

• Discussion followed.

Discussion Item: Property Tax Levy Analysis (Patrick Thompson-Winnebago County Administrator) (See Attachment)

Mr. Thompson gave a report on Property Tax Fund Levels on the Levies.

• Discussion followed.

Ordinance for a Budget Amendment to Establish Sheriff E-Citation Fund

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Ms. Crosby.

Mr. Thompson shared information on the Ordinance for a Budget Amendment to establish a Sheriff E- Citation Fund.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Resolution to Expedite the Payment of Claims for Winnebago County

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Thompson

Mr. Thompson discussed the Resolution to expedite the payment of claims for Winnebago County.

• Discussion followed.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Closed Session

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Thompson.

Roll Call: Chairperson Butitta yes, Ms. Crosby yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Vice Chairperson Salgado yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Chairperson Butitta: No action was taken in closed session.

Resolution Authorizing Settlement of a Claim Against the County of Winnebago Entitled David Seitz versus Winnebago County

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Hoffman. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Other Matters

None reported.

Adjournment

Chairperson Butitta called for a motion to adjourn. Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Ms. Crosby. Motion to adjourn passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Administrative Assistant