Winnebago County Board Finance Committee Meeting County Administration Building 404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

Thursday, November 7, 2024 Immediately following the Operations & Administrative Committee Meeting

Present:

John Butitta, Chairperson Jaime Salgado, Vice Chairperson Joe Hoffman Keith McDonald John F. Sweeney Michael Thompson

Others Present:

Patrick Thompson, County Administrator Steve Schultz, Chief Financial Officer Lafakeria Vaughn, Civil Bureau Chief, State's Attorney's Office Chris Dornbush, Chief Operations Officer Debbie Jarvis, Director of Court Services, 17th Judicial Circuit Tom Jakeway, 17th Circuit Court

Absent:

Jean Crosby

AGENDA:

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of October 17, 2024 Minutes
- D. Public Comment This is the time we invite the public to address the Finance Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign-up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters that are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgment by the Chairman, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Discussion Item: Resource Intervention Center Position Debbie Jarvis
- F. Resolution Approving Amendment to the Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Policy Regarding Grants
- G. Ordinance for a Budget Amendment WCCMHB Jail Navigator Vehicle
- H. Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Justice for Families Grant Award
- I. Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Order of Protection Service Grant Award
- J. Other Matters
- K. Adjournment

Call to Order

Chairperson Butitta called the meeting to order at 6:40 PM.

Roll Call

Chairperson Butitta yes, Vice Chairperson Salgado yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. McDonald yes, Mr. Sweeney yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Approval of October 17, 2024 Minutes

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Hoffman. Chairperson Butitta called for any discussion. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Chairperson Butitta omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda due to no one present to speak.

Discussion Item: Resource Intervention Center Position – Debbie Jarvis

Ms. Jarvis addressed the difficulties the Resource Intervention Center faces in filling positions after their grant was not renewed. The conversation will continue at the next committee meeting.

Resolution Approving Amendment to the Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Policy Regarding Grants

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Thompson.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson Butitta called for any other discussion.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Ordinance for a Budget Amendment WCCMHB Jail Navigator Vehicle

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Hoffman.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson Butitta called for any other discussion. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Justice for Families Grant Award

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Second: Mr. Thompson.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson Butitta called for any other discussion.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Ordinance for a Budget Amendment for Order of Protection Service Grant Award

Motion: Chairperson Butitta. Motion seconded.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson Butitta called for any other discussion.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Other Matters

• A discussion took place regarding a request made at the Operations and Administrative Committee meeting by Mr. Arena to allocate unallocated ARPA funds of \$10,000 to the Harlem Community Center.

Adjournment

Chairperson Butitta called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion: Mr. Hoffman. Second: Mr. Sweeney. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Executive Assistant