Winnebago County Board **Operations and Administrative Committee Meeting County Administration Building**

404 Elm Street, Room 303 Rockford, IL 61101

Thursday, March 20, 2025 5:30 PM

Present:

Others Present:

Keith McDonald, Chairperson	Patrick Thompson, County Administrator
Valerie Hanserd, Vice Chairperson	Steve Schultz, Chief Financial Officer
John Butitta	Hope Edwards, Director, Purchasing (Staff Liaison)
Joe Hoffman	Lafakeria Vaughn, State's Attorney's Office
Jaime Salgado	J. Hanley, State's Attorney
Michael Thompson	Chris Dornbush, Chief Operations Officer
	Debbie Jarvis, Director of Court Services, 17th Judicial Circuit
<u>Absent:</u>	Julie McCray Grotto, Juvenile Detention
Paul Arena	Dan Magers, Chief Information Officer
	Michaela Bradley, Deputy Chief Information Officer
	Rick Ciganek, WCSO
	Luke Wagner, WCSO
	Tom Lawson, Circuit Clerk
	Lisa Goodwin, Circuit Clerk
	Tom Jakeway, Court Administration

James Keeler, WCHD

Nick Zimmerman, Public Defender John Sweeney, County Board Member Jim Webster, County Board Member Christina Valdez, County Board Member

Dominick Barcelona, Retired Deputy Chief WCSO

AGENDA:

- Call to Order A.
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of Minutes – March 6, 2025
- D. Public Comment - This is the time we invite the public to address the Operations and Administrative Committee with issues and concerns. We ask you to limit your comments to three minutes. Personal attacks or inappropriate language of any sort will not be tolerated. We will allow a maximum of five speakers on a first come basis with sign-up at the meeting. Speakers may not address zoning matters which are pending before the ZBA, the Zoning Committee or the County Board. Personnel matters or pending or threatened litigation may not be addressed in open session. An individual may speak a maximum of three times per calendar year on the same topic. This prohibition shall include the repetition of the same topic in a statement on what is purported to be a different topic. After acknowledgment by the chair, please stand and state your name. Thank you.
- E. Resolution Awarding Purchase of Replacement Range Wall for Sheriff's Office Using CIP-PSST 2025 Funds Cost: \$105,595

- F. Resolution Awarding Purchase of Palo Alto Firewall Using CIP 2025 Funds Cost: \$494,980
- G. An Ordinance Amending Chapter 2, Article VI, Division 3 of the Winnebago County Code of Ordinances (Purchasing Ordinance)
- H. Update on County-Wide Security Camera/Integrator ARP Phase 3 Project (Discussion Only)
- I. Closed Session to Discuss Personnel Matters
- J. Resolution Amending the County Administrator Employment Agreement Between the County of Winnebago, Illinois and Patrick J. Thompson
- K. Future Agenda Items
- L. Adjournment

Chairperson McDonald called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

Roll Call

Chairperson McDonald yes, Mr. Butitta yes, Ms. Hanserd yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. Salgado yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Approval of Minutes – March 6, 2025

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Ms. Hanserd. Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion. The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Public Comment

Chairperson McDonald omitted reading the Public Comment Section of the Agenda because no one was present to speak.

Resolution Awarding Purchase of Replacement Range Wall for Sheriff's Office Using CIP-PSST 2025 Funds

Cost: \$105,595

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Hoffman. Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson McDonald called for a vote to approve the resolution.

The motion to approve the resolution was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Resolution Awarding Purchase of Palo Alto Firewall Using CIP 2025 Funds Cost: \$494,980

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Thompson. Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson McDonald called for a vote to approve the resolution.

The motion to approve the resolution was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

An Ordinance Amending Chapter 2, Article VI, Division 3 of the Winnebago County Code of Ordinances (Purchasing Ordinance)

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Salgado.

Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson McDonald called for any further discussion.

• Discussion followed.

Chairperson McDonald called for a vote to approve the ordinance.

The motion to approve the ordinance was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Update on County-Wide Security Camera/Integrator ARP Phase 3 Project (Discussion Only)

Dan Magers, the Chief Information Officer, provided an update. Rick Ciganek, the Chief Deputy, shared his insights on the project.

• Discussion followed.

Closed Session to Discuss Personnel Matters

Roll Call

Chairperson McDonald yes, Mr. Butitta yes, Ms. Hanserd yes, Mr. Hoffman yes, Mr. Salgado yes, Mr. Thompson yes.

Chairperson McDonald – No action was taken during the closed session.

Resolution Amending the County Administrator Employment Agreement Between the County of Winnebago, Illinois and Patrick J. Thompson

Motion: Chairperson McDonald. Second: Mr. Butitta.

Chairperson McDonald called for any discussion.

• Discussion followed.

Motion: Mr. Butitta proposed amending Section 3, Compensation, of the agreement between the County of Winnebago, Illinois, and Patrick J. Thompson to insert an annual salary of \$180,000, which is currently left blank.

Second: Ms. Hanserd. Third: Mr. Hoffman.

Chairperson McDonald called for any further discussion on the amendment to the resolution.

The motion to approve the amendment was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Motion: Chairperson McDonald made the motion to accept the amended resolution. Second: Mr. Butitta.

Chairperson McDonald called for any further discussion on the amended resolution.

Chairperson McDonald called for a vote to approve the amended resolution.

The motion to approve the amended resolution was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Future Agenda Items

• None reported

Motion to Adjourn

Chairperson McDonald called for a motion to adjourn. Motion: Mr. Thompson. Second: Ms. Hanserd. The motion to adjourn was passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Bleile Executive Assistant