Programs & Information

Adopt a Road Program

Would you like to see your group or organization’s name on a road sign? Well, we have the perfect program for you! We are looking for groups to volunteer for specific sections of Winnebago County Highways in one mile or more increments for waste cleanup. You choose the section of road you wish to beautify and the county provides your organization with two visible road signs with your organization's name displayed on it, safety vests and garbage bags for waste cleanup. For a list of available roads and to find out more about the Adopt-A-Road Program Call (815) 319-4000.


DUI Memorial Program

The Winnebago County Highway Department has implemented a roadside memorial program in conjunction with current State legislation. The program is designed to provide family and/or friends with a safe and compliant means of memorializing victims of motor vehicle accidents. The Highway Department strongly encourages family and/or friends to utilize the memorial sign program to optimize roadway safety and to minimize the necessary upkeep of the current roadside memorials being used.
Download the DUI Memorial Marker Application

Burning Ordinance

You may burn dry landscape waste on weekends only from April 15 through May 15 and on weekends during the month of November.

Please see below Burning Ordinance for more information.

 Surface Water Management Ordinance

The Winnebago County Surface Water Management Ordinance deals with Stormwater Detention, Floodplain Regulation, and Construction Site Sediment and Erosion Control.   It consists of two parts: the main Ordinance summarizing the requirements, and a Technical Regulation, providing details for compliance.   Both were adopted by the Winnebago County Board on August 24, 2006, though they were based on earlier versions of similar rules.

Visit the Surface Water Management page to learn more about its history in Winnebago County.

Stormwater Management Ordinance

The Winnebago County Stormwater Management Ordinance applies to unincorporated areas of Winnebago County, Illinois. Incorporated areas are subject to the ordinances of the city or village of jurisdiction. Municipalities located in urban areas as defined by the Census Bureau are required to obtain NPDES permit coverage (per the IEPA) for discharges from their municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s). Municipalities located outside of urbanized areas may need to comply within 180 days’ notice or as determined by the NPDES Permitting Authority. Beginning on March 10, 2003, construction sites that disturb one acre or more are required to have coverage under the NPDES general permit for stormwater discharges from construction site activities.

Download our information guide, After the Storm - A Citizen's Guide to Understanding Stormwater.

Visit the Stormwater Management page to learn more about what stormwater management is and why its important.


Watershed Improvement Plans

Click the links below to view PDFs for the current plans:

Buckbee Creek

Madigan Creek

South Fort Kent Creek

Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan

Hazard Mitigation is an integral part of long-range, comprehensive planning. It minimizes the initial and long-term impacts major disasters have on municipalities and residents. Major disasters often have devastating effects over large areas and often the impacts of these storms can last for extended periods of time. The long-term impacts of these storms are often worse in low-income communities. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) prioritizes mitigation as a tier principle in its organizational operation. Through the Disaster Management Act of 2000 (DMA) FEMA began federally requiring a Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan as a prerequisite for the majority of pre-and-post disaster funding for disasters.

The 2019 Winnebago County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan was prepared by the Region 1 Planning Council in coordination with its member agencies, partner organizations, Winnebago County organizations, Winnebago County service and utility providers, and their relevant staff.